Fox Beanie

My family has had a baby boom over the last 3 years.  Tons of little ones added on both my side and my husband’s side.  I love making hats for the new little additions.  Even though I can make hats much more quickly than I make blankets or sleepsacks, I can still barely keep up!  (My husband’s grandmother went from 0 great-grandkids to 7 plus one on the way and my grandma has added 5!)

I have done a lot of different bear hats and a few birds, owls, and a sheep, and I love how cute the animal hats turn out.  I decided to try a fox hat for one of the newest babies, and I am so excited about how it turned out.

 

img_7587

 

Fox Beanie Pattern

Size: 6-12 months (I hope to add smaller sizes in the near future)

Yarn: Red Heart Super Saver in Carrot and Black (less than 1 skein of Carrot and a very small amount of Black)

Hook: I used a size K, but I crochet very tightly, so most people would probably need a size I.

Gauge:  12 stitches and 10 Rounds (rows) = 4 inches

Note:  Either join the last stitch of each row with a slip stitch and chain 2 or for a seamless hat, mark the first stitch of each round and crochet continuously (don’t join each round)

Round 1:  12 DC in a magic circle

Round 2: 2 DC in each stitch around (24 stitches)

Round 3: *1 DC in first stitch, 2 DC in next stitch, repeat from * around (36 DC)

Round 4: *1 DC in first 2 sitches, 2 DC in next stitch, repeat from * around (48 DC)

Rounds  5-13: DC in each stitch around (48 DC per round)

NOTE: your hat should measure about 5-5.5 inches in height at this point.  Adjust your number of rounds accordingly

Rounds 14-16: * FPDC around first stitch, BPDC around next stitch, repeat from * around (48 stitches, 12 each FPDC and BPDC)

Note:  Your hat should now measure approximately 6.5- 7 inches in height.  You can do more or fewer rounds of DC around or of the FPDC/BPDC to achieve your desired look.  I wrote the pattern using the number of rounds I used, but I tend to have short rows due to my habit of crocheting too tightly.

Ears:

Make 4

Start using MC (Carrot)

Row 1: Chain 10

Row 2: DC in third chain from hook and in each chain across (8 DC)

Row 3:  CH 2, Decrease DC over first 2 stitches, DC in next 4 stitches, Decrease DC over last 2 stitches (6 DC)

Row 4: CH 2, Decrease DC over first 2 stitches, DC in next 2 stitches, Decrease DC over last 2 stitches (4 DC), Finish Off

R0w 5:  Join black yarn with slip stitch, CH 2, Decrease DC over 1st 2 stitches and over last 2 stitches (2 DC)

Row 6: Ch 2, Decrease DC over 2 stitches (1 DC), finish off

Sew 2 triangles together to make one ear.  Using 2 will make the ears more sturdy.  I turned them inside out when I finished to make the edges cleaner.

Sew each ear onto your hat.

 

Here is another picture on a background that shows the ear tips a little better:

img_7588

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fox Beanie

Leave a Reply

