Infant/Toddler Santa Hat


Last year was my baby girl’s first Christmas.  A few days before we took off for our holiday trip, my husband mentioned that I should make her a Santa hat.  I didn’t have a lot of time, but I was finished with all of my presents. I figured that if I used bulky yarn, I could whip one out in no time. I would also need to use yarn from my stash, so I headed up to my crochet room (aka, the guest room) and started searching. 


I found some nice red yarn that I had bought years ago to make a scarf for myself.  I ended up not liking it for me and had never found another use for the yarn. The yarn I used was red Yarn Bee airy.  This yarn has been discontinued, but any red bulky weight yarn will work just fine. 


For the white I found some Bernat Pipsqueak in Whitey White that I had leftover from a bunny hat that I had made.  This was the perfect fluffy yarn for the hat trim! 

My daughter was close to 8 months at the time, so the hat was a little big.  However, with the brim folded over, we could set it back far enough on her head to get some cute photos.  She is now 18 months and it fits much better!   She is really into hats right now, and this is one of her favorites to run around the house in.  


Infant/Toddler Santa Hat

Size: 9-18 months

Gauge: 9 stitches, 5 rows = 4 inches. 
Materials

Hook: I used a P hook, but my stitches are very tight, so most crocheters would probably need an N hook or whatever hook achieves correct gauge.  

Yarn:  

Bulky Yarn in Red, 1 skein or less. I used Yarn Bee airy from my stash. This yarn has been discontinued, but any bulky weight yarn in red should work. 

Bulky Yarn in white, less than 1 skein. I used Bernat Pipsqueak in Whitey White.  

Note: This pattern is worked in continuous rounds, meaning that you do not join the last stitch of the round to the first. Be sure to mark the first stitch of each round so you don’t lose your place. 
Directions: 

Round 1: 8 DC in magic circle (8 DC) 

Round 2: *1 DC in first stitch, 2 DC in next stitch, repeat from * around (12 DC) 

Round 3: 1 DC in each stitch around (12 DC) 

Round 4: * 1 DC in each of first three stitches, 2 DC in next stitch, repeat from * around (16 DC) 

Round 5: *1 DC in each of first 4 stitches, 2 DC in next stitch, repeat from * around (20 DC)

Round 6: 1 DC in each stitch around (20 DC) 

Round 7: *1 DC in each of first 5 stitches, 2 DC in next stitch, repeat from * around (24 DC)

Round 8: 1 DC in each stitch around (24 DC) 

Round 9: *1 DC in each of first 6 stitches, 2 DC in next stitch, repeat from * around (28 DC)

Round 10: *1 DC in each of first 7 stitches, 2 DC in next stitch, repeat from * around (32 DC)

Round 11: 1 DC in each stitch around (32 DC)

Round 12: *1 DC in each of first 8 stitches, 2 DC in next stitch, repeat from * around (36 DC)

Round 13: 1 DC in each stitch around (36 DC) 

Round 14: *1 DC in each of first 9 stitches, 2 DC in next stitch, repeat from * around (40 DC)

Round 15: 1 DC in each stitch around. Join with slip stitch to first stitch in round (40 DC) 

Round 16-20: 1 DC in each stitch around (40 DC) 

Join with slip stitch and finish off. Make pompon using white yarn and attach to top of hat. 

Leave a Reply

