Crochet For a Cause- Fall/Winter 2019

A friend of mine recently attended a presentation on homelessness in our community. One of the presenters was from a local middle school. She talked about how homelessness affects kids at her school. Being homeless can mean a lot of different things. For our community homelessness often means moving from place to place staying with various people. It’s less visible than homelessness on the streets, so often families can go undetected.

The middle school has a clothing closet which helps provide clothing to kids who may not have clothes that fit correctly, are in good repair, or work for the season. As we approach winter the speaker posted the following list of needs:

For those of you who have never had the pleasure (torture) of being in Iowa in the winter- it’s cold here. Very cold. My heart goes out to these kids who have to go out in the freezing cold without adequate protection in order to get to and from school. I also thought about how embarrassing it must be not to have proper hats, gloves, scarves and have to get them from school. My goal is to get enough to donate that any child who either doesn’t have or forgets an item of winter clothing can get a new one.

My friend had already asked me if I would be willing to make some winter items to help out. I am certainly happy to make hats and scarves, but I am slow and only one person.

So, crochet (and knit) friends, if you are so inclined, I invite you to help me stock their clothing closet. I will be collecting knit, crocheted, sewn, or even store bought winter items for the next few months.

The drop off location will be at my coffee shop Wit’s End located at 630 10th St., Marion Iowa, 52302. I have already placed a cube in the porch entrance to collect items.

I have also placed a small basket with extra yarn and a collection of crochet hooks for anyone who happens into the shop and feels inclined to work up a quick hat or pair of gloves. You will find the yarn and hooks under the bookshelf in the fireplace room, in with the art supplies.

You can find some great winter weather patterns and tutorials here:

Simple Ribbed Hat

Simple Ribbed Fingerless Gloves

Simple Ribbed Ear Warmer

Any excess items will be offered to other local schools, Families Helping Families (foster care support), and local shelters. Thank you in advance! I will keep everyone updated!

Leave a comment